Best affiliate programs for beginners in 2026: a ranked guide
The best affiliate programs for beginners in 2026, ranked by approval hurdle, tracking window and payout threshold, with Amazon's 2026 changes and tax rules.
In this note
TL;DR¶
For most beginners in 2026, the best first affiliate programs are software programs that are easy to join and track referrals for a long time: HubSpot (30% recurring for up to a year, a 180-day cookie, $10 minimum payout), Kit (50% of a referral’s first 12 months of payments) and Shopify (a flat $150 per qualified US referral). Amazon Associates still works for product niches, but its April 2026 rule changes and reported rate cuts make it a weaker first choice than it used to be. Of these, pick the program that fits what you already write about.
Difficulty: Beginner
Time to first result: 3 to 12 months for first commissions from search traffic
A new site has little traffic. Whether you ever get paid depends on three things: how easy the program is to join, how long it credits you after a click, and how low the payout bar is. Commission size comes after those. The ranking below scores programs on these factors. It also covers networks, programs to skip, and the disclosure and tax rules that apply from your first dollar. If you’re starting from zero, read our step-by-step affiliate marketing framework first.
Five terms to know before comparing programs¶
- Affiliate program: one company’s offer to pay you for sales or sign-ups you refer, such as Shopify’s or Amazon’s.
- Affiliate network: a middleman that hosts many programs and handles tracking and payments. Awin, impact.com, CJ and PartnerStack are networks. One network account can get you into dozens of programs.
- Tracking window (cookie window): how long after a reader clicks your link a purchase still counts for you. For a low-traffic site, 24 hours and 180 days are very different deals.
- Payout threshold: the balance you need before the program pays out. Below it, earnings usually roll over to the next month.
- Recurring commission: you keep earning while the customer keeps paying, instead of once per sale.
The framework: scoring a program for a new site¶
Apply these six tests to any program, including ones not listed here.
- Fit with your content. A program only pays if your readers would actually buy the product. A blog about email newsletters fits Kit far better than a TV retailer. Look at your existing posts and list the products those readers already need.
- Approval hurdle. Some programs approve almost anyone. Others want an active site, a set amount of content or a sales record first. Start with the low hurdles.
- Tracking window. Long windows suit content readers bookmark and come back to, like software comparisons. Short windows only pay when the reader buys right away.
- Earnings per conversion. A conversion is the action that earns you money: a sale, a paid plan or a trial. A $150 flat fee and a 4% cut of a $30 item need very different traffic to reach the same income.
- Payout threshold and fees. With a $10 threshold, your first small earnings actually reach your bank. A $100 default plus a per-payment fee means a longer wait.
- Rule risk. Read the operating agreement. Programs that ban certain link placements or can change terms at short notice are riskier for a beginner who doesn’t yet know the rules.
The ranking¶
This order is for a new content site with modest traffic. It would change for a large site or a social-first creator.
| Rank | Program | Commission | Tracking window | Minimum payout | Main hurdle |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | HubSpot | 30% recurring, up to 1 year | 180 days | $10 | No minimum sales requirement |
| 2 | Kit | 50% of first 12 months, then 10% to 20% with status | Not stated on official page | Not stated on official page | Apply through PartnerStack |
| 3 | Shopify | $150 flat (US, qualifying plans) | 30 days | $10 | Needs an active site or audience |
| 4 | Amazon Associates | 0% to 10% published by category, cuts reported | 24 hours | $10 (direct deposit or gift card) | 3 qualifying sales in 180 days |
| 5 | Semrush | Fixed amounts per sale or trial | 120 days | Not stated on official page | Review within two working days |
| 6 | Bluehost | $65 per qualified sale | 30 days | Not stated; paid 45 to 70 days after sale | Site needs traffic or development work |
| 7 | eBay Partner Network | 1% to 6% by category | 24 hours | Check your account | Per-transaction caps |
| 8 | Walmart | Check the program terms | Check the program terms | Paid by check | Must be of legal age; no current employees |
1. HubSpot¶
HubSpot has the lowest hurdle of any program here. Joining is free, you don’t need to be a HubSpot customer, and there is no minimum sales requirement. It pays 30% recurring for up to one year per referred customer, which HubSpot describes as “up to $1,000+ per sale” at the Starter tier. The 180-day cookie is what makes it work for a small site, because a reader who compares CRMs for months still counts. Payouts go by bank transfer or PayPal once you reach $10. It fits marketing, small business, freelancing and sales content.
2. Kit (formerly ConvertKit)¶
Kit’s affiliate program pays 50% of what each referred paying customer pays in their first 12 months. After that you keep a smaller share for as long as you hold a status level: Bronze (10+ paying referrals a year) earns 10%, Silver (50+) earns 15% and Gold (100+) earns 20%. This applies to customers referred on or after 1 January 2024. Referrals from paid methods such as pay-per-click ads don’t count toward status. For a site about blogging, newsletters or the creator business, this is the strongest long-term fit. The downside is that Kit’s page doesn’t publish a cookie length, payout minimum or payment schedule, so check those inside PartnerStack after you apply.
3. Shopify¶
Shopify pays up to $150 per qualified referral with no commission caps. In the US it’s a flat $150 for referrals to the Basic, Grow or Advanced plans at full price. Plus, Enterprise and Retail referrals earn nothing. Free trials don’t count on their own, but trial stores are tracked for up to 400 days to see if they convert. Referrals are tracked for 30 days after the click, and you can withdraw once you have $10. Shopify’s earnings page says each month’s referrals lock on the 21st of the following month and are paid the next day. Applications are usually processed within 24 hours, but applicants are often declined for having “no active website or audience.” Publish first, then apply.
4. Amazon Associates¶
Amazon is still the easiest way to earn from physical products, because it sells almost everything. It’s free to join, and the payout threshold is $10 for direct deposit or gift card ($100 for a check). Three things push it down this list in 2026:
- The three-sale gate. Amazon only reviews your application after three qualifying sales within 180 days, and your own orders don’t count. Its rule of thumb is “at least 10 posts” of recent content, and a rejected application can’t be reassessed.
- The 24-hour window. You earn on items added to the cart within 24 hours of the click, and the order must be placed no later than 89 days after that click.
- The April 2026 changes. Amazon’s change log for 14 April 2026 says on-site commission now applies only to the exact product variant you linked, sales from paid or boosted ads no longer earn, and “original content” must involve commentary, analysis or transformation. Separately, Adweek reported rate cuts of up to 50% in some categories, reaching the US around March 2026, with no public announcement. The published rate table still shows 10% for luxury beauty, 4.5% for kitchen and 3% for home. Treat the cuts as reported but not uniform, and check your own dashboard.
Amazon also bans buying through your own links, cloaking links, using links in email or print, and putting links in browser extensions. You must be legally able to enter a contract, which rules out minors.
5. Semrush¶
Semrush runs its program on Impact with a 120-day cookie and last-click attribution, meaning the last affiliate link clicked before purchase gets the credit. It pays fixed commissions for every sale or trial activation, and applications are usually reviewed within two working days. The official page shows the amounts only as an image and gives no minimum payout, and third-party figures conflict, so confirm the terms in your dashboard after approval. It suits SEO and content marketing sites.
6. Bluehost¶
Bluehost pays $65 for each qualified sale with a 30-day cookie, and you don’t need to be a customer. Sign-up runs through impact.com. Applications can be declined if a site “lacks sufficient traffic or development work.” Commissions are processed 45 to 70 days after a sale, so cash arrives slowly.
7 and 8. eBay Partner Network and Walmart¶
eBay pays 1% to 6% depending on category, tracks for 24 hours, caps earnings per transaction, and pays little or nothing on charity items and some promotions. Walmart requires you to be of legal age where you live (“at least 18 years or older in most states”), excludes current employees, pays by check about 90 days after each month ends, and requires “#WalmartPartner” or “paid link” as disclosure. Both are reasonable add-ons for a product niche, but neither is an easier first step than Amazon.
The best affiliate marketing platforms for beginners¶
If you’d rather join one platform and choose programs from inside it, these are the main options and what they cost you:
| Network | Cost to join | Payout rules |
|---|---|---|
| Awin (now includes ShareASale) | $1 deposit, refunded after your first tracked sale | Payment runs on the 1st and 15th |
| impact.com | Free | $10 minimum; a monthly fee starts in month 7 if you can’t be paid for 6 months |
| CJ | Free | You set your own minimum |
| ClickBank | Free | 5 sales using 2+ payment methods first; $100 default threshold; $5 per payment |
ShareASale closed on 6 October 2025 and its accounts moved to Awin, so any guide that still lists it as a separate network is out of date. impact.com’s dormancy fee usually hits people who never added their payment or tax details, so fill those in on day one. CJ’s payment-cycle article dates from 2022, so check the current schedule in your account. PartnerStack hosts many software programs, including Kit. For a no-spend route through these networks, see our zero-budget affiliate framework.
TikTok Shop is a separate path for video creators. You must be 18 or older, based in the US and have at least 1,000 followers, and you need 5,000 followers to promote other sellers’ products. Accounts under 5,000 followers start with a 30-day pilot. In the standard version, that pilot is capped at 3 product videos a day.
Programs to skip or wait on¶
- Canva: new individual creators have to go through the “Canvassador” program, which is currently closed to applications. Don’t plan around it.
- Any program you’re too young for: Walmart and TikTok Shop require you to be 18 or older, and Amazon requires the legal capacity to sign a contract.
- Paid “done-for-you” stores or courses that promise passive income: in the FTC’s Click Profit case, fees started at $45,000 or more, consumers lost at least $14 million, and Amazon blocked or suspended about 95% of the stores. The FTC’s warning signs are guaranteed income, a “proven system,” pressure to join quickly, and testimonials that may be fake. The programs in this guide cost nothing or next to nothing to join. Our passive income evaluation framework covers how to vet these offers.
Example walkthrough: a blog for home bakers who want to sell online¶
Imagine a site that teaches home bakers to price, package and sell their goods online.
Fit: readers need kitchen equipment (Amazon), a store (Shopify), a newsletter to tell customers about new batches (Kit), and possibly a website (Bluehost).
Hurdles: HubSpot states no minimum sales requirement, and Kit applications go through PartnerStack. Shopify and Bluehost want a real, active site, so publish at least 10 useful posts (Amazon’s own rule of thumb) before applying. Amazon’s three qualifying sales in 180 days is only realistic once some posts are getting search traffic.
Earnings per conversion: assume a typical Amazon order from the site is an $80 basket of baking tools, and assume the published 4.5% kitchen rate still applies (it may not, given the reported cuts). That’s $3.60 per order. One qualified Shopify referral to a full-price Basic plan pays $150, about the same as 42 of those Amazon orders.
Planning: the “how to open an online bakery shop” guide deserves more effort than a “best piping bags” roundup, even though the roundup is easier to write. Amazon links still belong in equipment posts, where they help readers and add a little income. The cornerstone pages (the long, central guides the rest of the site links to) should point toward Shopify and Kit, because a single conversion there is worth so much more.
Timeline: new pages often take several months to rank, so expect the first months to go on publishing and getting indexed. Nothing here guarantees a ranking or a sale.
Disclosure and taxes before your first commission¶
Disclosure. The FTC’s guidance says “affiliate link” on its own is not enough. Use plain wording such as “We earn a commission on purchases made through links in this post,” and place it near the recommendation as well as anywhere else you disclose, such as the footer. Amazon also requires a set sentence saying you earn from qualifying purchases as an Amazon Associate. Copy it word for word from the operating agreement. In videos, the disclosure must appear in the video itself, with a label like “#ad,” and not only in the description. The FTC’s maximum civil penalty is $53,088 per violation, unchanged for 2026, and it applies under rules such as its ban on fake reviews.
Taxes. For payments made from 2026 on, a business only has to send you a Form 1099-NEC or 1099-MISC once it pays you $2,000 or more in a year. Not getting a form doesn’t make the income tax-free, because the IRS says you must report all of it. Once your net self-employment earnings reach $400, you file Schedule SE and owe self-employment tax of 15.3%, and half of that tax is deductible. If you expect to owe $1,000 or more, you generally pay estimated tax quarterly. The last 2026 payment is due 15 January 2027. This is general information, not tax advice, so check your own situation with a tax professional.
Common mistakes¶
- Choosing by headline commission. A 50% rate on a product your readers don’t need earns nothing.
- Applying before the site is ready. Shopify and Bluehost decline thin sites, and Amazon won’t reassess a rejected application.
- Thin affiliate pages. Google’s spam policies call out “thin affiliation,” meaning product descriptions copied from the merchant with no original content. Pages that rank add original reviews, testing, ratings or comparisons.
- Leaving payment and tax details blank. That’s how impact.com’s dormancy fee starts.
- Relying on one program. Amazon can change its terms with two business days’ notice, and the 2026 changes show it uses that power.
- Shortcuts. Buying links, private blog networks and paid-click schemes break program rules and Google’s policies, and they can cost you the account.
Recap¶
- Score every program on fit, approval hurdle, tracking window, earnings per conversion, payout threshold and rule risk.
- For a new site, start with software programs that have low hurdles, long tracking windows and a match with your niche (HubSpot, Kit, Shopify).
- Use Amazon Associates for product posts, knowing about the three-sale gate, the 24-hour window and the 2026 changes.
- Join a network such as Awin or impact.com to reach more programs, and add your payment and tax details on day one.
- Disclose clearly near every recommendation, and report all affiliate income, with or without a 1099.
Next, learn how to plan the keywords behind your cornerstone pages, because that’s where the high-value programs on this list earn their money.
Sources are linked inline. Fees and rules change, so confirm anything important on the platform’s own pages. How these notes are researched